Travel around Suzhou


Suzhou is a famous tourism and cultural city, and also an ancient city with the advanced coastal economy and 2,500 years of history. Located at latitude 30.46°~32.02° N and longitude 119.55°-121.20° E, it is west to Shanghai and north to Zhejiang. Taihu Lake in its west and Yangcheng Lake in its east have brought up the warm and wet climate environment.

An old Chinese saying goes: "Just as there is paradise in heaven, there are Suzhou and Hangzhou on earth." Suzhou has a very long historical background, so she has left us with many beautiful and interesting legends as well as a lot of attracting beautiful views and historical relics. The natural view and historical sites in Suzhou have attracted numerous overseas tourists.

Climate: Suzhou is located in the temperate zone with clearly distinguished four seasons, warm climate and abundant rainfall. Its yearly average temperature is 16℃ with about 230 frost-free days, over 2,000 hours of sunlight, and an precipitation of 1,100mm. The precipitation from March to August is about 65% of the yearly rainfall.

Language: Mandarin is the common language in Suzhou and also the official language in China. Suzhou dialect is greatly different from mandarin.

Currency: The currency circulated in China is Renminbi with its basic unit as Yuan. The airports and hotels can provide the foreign currency exchange service. The hotels, large shopping malls and banks accept most of the travelers' checks and main credit cards.

By Air: Shanghai Hongqiao Airport or Shanghai Pudong International Airport should better be the destination by air. It only takes 60 minutes from Hongqiao Airport to Suzhou by car and only 150 minutes from Shanghai Pudong International Airport. There are shuttle buses from Suzhou to Hongqiao and Pudong Airport every day, but the tickets shall be booked in advance. Please consult our Concierge for details.

By water: There are shuttle ships on the Suzhou-Hangzhou section of the Beijing-Hangzhou Grand Canal for passengers every day. You can board the ship at Nanmen Ferry Terminal (on the flat land of south end of Renmin Bridge) in Suzhou and at Wulinmen Ferry Terminal in Hangzhou. The ship runs from opposite directions at 17:30pm every day and will arrive at the destination at 7:00am next day. The ticket price is in a range of RMB88~150 for a single trip. Please consult our Concierge for details.

Suzhou Culture and Arts Center

Suzhou Culture and Arts Centre is regarded as the landmark of the development of the city's culture and arts. It is the platform of international culture exchange and the important base of the city's culture innovation industry. The centre had its grand opening on October 1st, 2007. Suzhou Culture and Arts Centre houses a variety of function facilities: Grand Theatre, Performance Hall, Cineplex, IMAX Theatre, Ballet Theatre, Art Museum, SIP Cultural Centre, Arts School and Commercial Centre. It is the demonstration base of Jiangsu cultural Industry; its grand theatre is one of the members of AAPPAC, and what's more, the Cineplex is the only state-authorized five-star cinema in Suzhou and is a steady winner at the Suzhou box office. In particular, it is the permanent home to the world-renowned annual Golden Rooster Cinematic Awards.

玩转苏州


苏州是一个著名的旅游文化城市。除此以外,她还是一个有着发达沿海经济及2500年历史的古老城市。其位于北纬30.46-32.02,东经119.55-121.20之间,东连上海,南接浙江,而在西面及北面的太湖与阳澄湖更为苏州提供了温暖而潮湿的气候环境。

中国有句老话叫做:"上有天堂,下有苏杭。"正因为苏州有着很长的历史背景,所以她为我们留下了许多美丽而有趣的传说以及许多吸引人的美丽景色与历史古迹。苏州的自然风光及历史古迹吸引了无数的海外游客来此旅游。

天气: 苏州地处温带,四季分明,气候温和,雨量充沛,年平均气温为16℃,无霜期230天左右,日照2000小时以上,年降水量1100毫米,3至8月的降水量占全年雨量的65%左右。

语言: 普通话是苏州的通用语言,也是中国的官方语言。苏州本地话和普通话有很大差别。

货币: 中国的流通货币是人民币,基本单位为元。机场和酒店提供外币兑换服务。酒店、大商场和银行接受大部分旅游支票和主要信用卡。

航空: 乘飞机来往苏州,最好取道上海虹桥机场或上海浦东国际机场。自驾车从虹桥机场到苏州仅需60分钟;上海浦东国际机场至苏州仅需150分钟。苏州至虹桥机场、浦东机场每天均有班车前往,需提前订票,具体事宜请垂询礼宾部。

水运:京杭大运河苏杭段每天有客航线往返,苏州在南门码头(人民桥堍 )上船,杭州在武林门码头上船,每天17:30对开一班,次日7:00抵达。单程票价88-150元不等。具体事宜请垂询礼宾部。

文化艺术中心

苏州文化艺术中心(简称"苏艺")是苏州标志性的文化高地、多元化的艺术殿堂、国际化的交流平台,也是百姓的精神家园。苏艺开业于2007年10月1日,由苏州大剧院、苏艺影城 、苏艺芭蕾舞团、苏州金鸡湖美术馆、园区文化馆、苏艺培训、商业中心等组成。苏州文化艺术中心是"江苏省文化产业示范基地";苏州大剧院是"亚洲太平洋地区剧院表演艺术 中心联盟"成员;苏艺影城票房一直傲居苏州影院票房之冠,是中国"金鸡奖"永久评奖基地,也是苏州唯一国家挂牌"五星级影院"。